Ongoing: Staffs, advisers can nominate professionals for awards

Staffs and advisers can nominate individuals who contribute significantly to New England’s scholastic press for special awards.

The Robert Baram Award honors distinguished advisers from this region who have helped students raise their sights and standards in the practice of school journalism. The award is named for the late Robert Baram, founder and for 46 years NESPA’s executive director. Consideration for the award is based on an adviser’s contributions to the cause of ethical, thorough and articulate scholastic journalism in the adviser’s school and community; and support for school journalists in all facets of their efforts to present credible, useful material to their audience.

The Freedom to Write Award honors school administrators who actively inspire students and faculty to use journalism as a way to participate more fully in a democratic society.


Awards of Special Recognition honor professors and members of the professional press.

Please send nomination materials to
Helen F. Smith, executive director, New England Scholastic Press Association, at the temporary mailing address due to the COVID-9 pandemic: 130 Washington St., Newton, MA 02458. Winners will receive their awards at the annual conference in May, 2022