Freedom to Write Award Recipients

The Freedom to Write Award honors New England public or private school administrators who actively encourage and support students and their advisers in the exercise of responsible scholastic journalism. The administrators who win this award inspire students and faculty to use journalism as a way to participate more fully in a democratic society.

Freedom to Write Recipients:

2012 Cheryl Tutalo, principal, Westport High School
2017 Mary Burchenal, English department chair, Brookline High School
2018 Stephen Imbusch, principal, Walpole High School
2019 Jason Parent, principal, Londonderry High School